Sassafras: May Sketch Challenge

I wanted to share my entry with you for the May Sketch Challenge over at the Sassafras Blog. The May Sketch is provided by Marcy Penner and you have to use 90% Sassafras products:

Marcy april most of the time sketch web

Here is the Layout I created inspired by the Sketch:

When I looked back at my Easter pics, I came across this photo. It just stood out. The look on Caitie’s face was so great! The look of WOW…an overwhelming sensation of excitement bursting out with just this look! It was such a fun Easter Egg Hunt. I love this photo and I just love the way this LO turned out! The background paper I chose “Dainty Sketch” is such a perfect match to the sunset of that day! Here are some close-up shots of my LO:

I loved adding the lace trim at the bottom.  Caitie had ruffles all over her Easter outfit.

To match Caitie’s dress, I sprayed the natural chipboard letter stickers with the Lavender Fields Glimmer Mist. The “Heartfelt” Patterned Paper was perfect for all the excitement and running during the Egg Hunt. I was going to add the “heartbeat” stitching from my sewing machine to the three hearts, but I knew Chris (my husband) would just laugh at me!

The Look on Her Face is just Priceless!

Caitie’s sweet little hand showing the fun journaling spot. She loves the “Peek-A-Boo” Bunny:

I loved making this journaling pocket. The journaling font I used is called Annie BTN (downloaded from the internet). It’s one of my favorite fonts…I use it ALOT!

I added the pretty “Vintage Lovely” floral paper to the back of the journaling card.

I LOVE everything about this bunny! I added a sweet flower patch around him, because Caitie didn’t want him to sit off to the side by himself. Ha!

I love adding a 3D flower effect throughout the page.

Supplies I used to make my “EggCITED” LO:

Sweetly Smitten Collection (Heartfelt, Floral Fields, Dainty Sketch, and Vintage Lovely Patterned Papers, the Wee Bundle, Flag Banner, and Journal Tag), Count Me In Love To Learn Patterned Paper, and Ellie’s Tale Journal Tag by Sassafras

Sunrise Thickers Natural Chipboard Letter Stickers and Foam Circle Tabs by American Crafts

Lavender Fields Glimmer Mist by Tattered Angels

Mini and Memory Book Glue Dots and Herma Tabs

scissors, lace trim, button, white thread, and my sewing machine


2 Comments on “Sassafras: May Sketch Challenge”

  1. aunt emmy says:

    oh, i love caitie’s face! (always, of course, but especially with that expression!) this is an amazing layout, renee – well done!! (and i think the zig-zag stitching over the hearts would have been cute…) hugs and kisses!

  2. kat says:

    wow! great layout and awesome take on the sketch!!


Leave a Reply

