Sassafras: The July Challenge

I wanted to share my entry with you for the July Challenge over at the Sassafras Blog.

This time it’s not a sketch challenge. They’re mixing it up…fun and different! I’m always up for a great challenge! So, for July, the challenge is to mix different Sassafras collections on your layout. You still have to use 90% Sassafras product. I mixed items from these Collections: Anthem, Ellie’s Tale, Sweetly Smitten, Paper Crush, and Life is Beautiful “Pocket Full of Rosies.” Here is my Layout:

I adore these photos of Caitie at Six Flags Great America. We took the girls there for the first time last month. This is the Hot Air Balloon Ride. You can see why I LOVE these pics…Caitie is just beaming with pure happiness. I’m so happy I captured this moment. This is Caitie’s true smile! I am so happy with the way this Layout turned out! For the title of my LO, I used the alpha stickers from the Sassafras Paper Crush Collection (the color was a perfect match to my page). I added six flags from the Ellie’s Tale Flag Banners Stickers Sheet and some stitching with my sewing machine.

For my journaling, I used the font CK Wistful. It definitely fits this LO! It’s a really pretty font. This Journal Spot is from the Ellie’s Tale Journal Tags Cardstock Stickers Sheet. I also used this font on the banner from the Anthem “Dream Big” Patterned Paper.

All the Hot Air Balloons are from the Anthem “Dream Big” Patterned Paper. The pretty and whimsical clouds are from the Pocket Full of Rosies “Piccadilly” Patterned Paper.

This pretty pink ribbon with the pink bead on it was taken off a card that my mom gave me. I really loved it and wanted to add it as a charm for the biggest balloon on the page.

Supplies I used to make my “Up, Up and A Ray of Sunshine” Layout:

Patterned Papers: Anthem “Dream Big,” Sweetly Smitten “Heartfelt,” and Life is Beautiful – Pocket Full of Rosies “Piccadilly” by Sassafras

Mini Alpha Stickers: Script by Sassafras

Flag Banners Stickers: Ellie’s Tale by Sassafras

Journal Tags Stickers: Ellie’s Tale and Sweetly Smitten by Sassafras

Embellishments:

1. Paper Whimsies – Petal To The Metal

2. In A Stitch Blossoms – Bright Red

3. Buttons from the Layered Blossoms – Homegrown and the In A Stitch Blossoms – Kraft

4. Brads (I think are) from Monster Pals (yellow brad) and Dainty Dots (the two orange brads) Please don’t quote me on this one…I can’t remember if I’m correct.

Others: Mini and Memory Book Glue Dots, Herma Tabs, Circle Adhesive Foam Tabs by American Crafts, pink ribbon with pink bead, scissors, white thread, and sewing machine.


2 Comments on “Sassafras: The July Challenge”

  1. aunt emmy says:

    this looks so great, renee! i love the colors on this one! up, up and a ray of sunshine = brilliant! and of course, caitie is just darling! SO happy, and you’re right about her sweetness and positivity. love her so much!! (and all of you, of course!) thanks for sharing it!

  2. Natalie E says:

    oh this is just the cutest!!!! Love the way you’ve mixed and matched your Sassafras collections and yet it all looks so cohesive 🙂 Beautiful page!


Leave a Reply

