Sassafras: The August Challenge

I wanted to share my two entries with you for the August Challenge over at the Sassafras Blog.

Again, it’s not a sketch challenge. Since school is starting this month, we are going to celebrate by using our letters! This month, we are to create a layout inspired by Emily’s idea of mixing alphas. I love this idea of “mixing it up” again! It doesn’t matter what we do or how we use them, we just have to use at least three different Sassafras alphabets. We still have to use 90% Sassafras product.

I created this layout titled “i love u  24-7  365”:

Here is the story behind this layout. Before Caitie starts First Grade (just one more week left!) and is a full-time student, I wanted to spend as much time with her and Payton this summer before that happens. We have spent most of this summer at the pool. But, this “smash shot” photo was taken by my baby sister at The Brookfield Zoo. We spent the day together with her and Baby Cousin, Maddie. I love this pic! My sister did an awesome job! I wanted to create a soft layout to express my feelings about this photo. I ADORE my girls! The title came to me after I printed this pic out. The background paper I chose from the Starters Collection by Sassafras was absolutely perfect. Why? Not only because of the beautiful designs and soft colors, but also because of the number “10” off to the right of the page. I will forever remember this day we all went to the zoo…August 10, 2011.

I used the Lavender Fields Glimmer Mist not only to add the splatters on the page, but also on the strip of Golden Hour Patterned Paper to the left of my photo. I taped off the white part of the strip with a 2″ wide blue painters tape and sprayed it with the Lavender Fields Mist. I combined the Brick and Tiger Lily Glimmer Mists to get a pretty good color match to the Sunshine Broadcast Collection.

Supplies I used to make my “i love u 24-7 365” LO:

Background Paper: Starters Collection Intro Paper by Sassafras

The Sunshine Broadcast Collection by Sassafras: Golden Hour and Kindle Patterned Papers, the Wee Bundle, Foldies, and Sweet Treats Stickers

Alpha Stickers by Sassafras: Goldenrod, Yellow Paper, and Apple Glitter (from the Applejack Collection Kit)

Buttons by Sassafras: Green (the 3 gray buttons) and Kraft (the 2 yellow buttons) “In a Stitch Blossoms” and the Rascals Layered Blossoms (the gray and black striped button)

Punches: Large Monarch Butterfly Double Craft Punch,  3 in 1 Classic Butterfly Punch, and Monarch Butterfly Double Embossed Punch by Martha Stewart Crafts and Circles Large Edger Punch by EK Success

Paper Doilies by Little Yellow Bicycle

Tiny Attacher by Tim Holtz

Adhesives: Mini and Memory Book Glue Dots, Herma Tabs, Circle Foam Tabs by American Crafts, and the Zig 2-Way Glue Pen

Spray Ink: Lavender Fields, Brick, and Tiger Lily Glimmer Mists by Tattered Angels

Other: scissors, white thread and sewing machine, white embroidery floss and needle, staples, blue painters tape, and lace ribbon

Here is another layout I created titled “Back to School Supplies”:

A little bit of Scrap Therapy for me in preparation for Caitie to start First Grade. Oh, I’ll be okay…it’ll just hurt for about a month. Maybe longer for this 24-7 Mama. I wanted to make a fun and pretty page after we took Caitie to Target to get her school supplies. We had fun!

Supplies I used to make my “Back to School Supplies” LO:

Patterned Paper: The Sweetly Smitten Collection by Sassafras Pen Pals (Background Paper), Dainty Sketch, and the Sweetly Smitten Wee Bundle.

Alphabet Letters: Pink Glitter, Khaki Type, and Blue Graph Alpha Stickers (for the Title) and Musical and Green Graph Alpha Stickers (for the supply list around the page) by Sassafras

Embellishments: Sweetly Foldies Sheet, Sweetly Smitten Flag Banner Sticker Sheet, and Green and Kelly Green “In a Stitch Blossoms” (the yellow and green buttons) by Sassafras

Spray Inks: Starfish, Strawberry Shortcake, Tiger Lily, Yellow Daisy, Meadow Green, Key Lime Pie, Blue Skies, Lavender Fields, and Fully Purple Glimmer Mists by Tattered Angels

Adhesives: Circle Foam Tabs by American Crafts and Memory Book Glue Dots

Other: scissors, white thread and sewing machine, and cardboard

One Comment on “Sassafras: The August Challenge”

  1. yvonnek11 says:

    They’re both such cute LO’s! Love the pic in “365”. The colors in “Back to school” are so vibrant and fun!


Leave a Reply

