Little Yellow Bicycle: Sketch Challenge

I was thrilled to be invited by Liz Qualman to join in the Sketch Challenge over at the Little Yellow Bicycle Blog. This wasn’t just a sketch challenge. The challenge she presented was for me to use my leftover stash from the Wonder and Wishes Collection and create an everyday page. What will you do with your stash? Head on over to the LYB Blog to join in on this sketch challenge (rules and how to enter info at the blog) and for your chance to win some Little Yellow Bicycle goodies…

http://littleyellowbicycle.typepad.com/my-blog/2012/01/new-sketch-challenge-with-a-little-help-from-our-friends.html

The Jan/Feb Sketch is provided by Liz Qualman & you have to use at least 75% LYB products:

Here is the Layout I created inspired by the Sketch:

Payton loves her new art easel. It was a Christmas gift for her and Caitie from Grandma. Payton is such a great artist. She enjoys painting all kinds of projects. I would describe her style as mainly abstract painting. Caitie has more of a landscape style that I just love. Instead of using three photos like in the sketch, I decided to go with my favorite photo (3.5 x 5 inches cut down to a 3 x 4 inches) of Payton painting in the middle and her handprints off to the sides. How cute are Payton’s tiny 4-year-old handprints!? The tricks I used to get these handprints just perfect for this LO…a foam brush and a thin layer of the blue paint. I spread the paint very thinly and evenly on her hands (I did one hand at a time) and asked her to carefully put her hands on the white cardstock. Once she put her hands on the cardstock, I asked her to be as still as possible and I pressed her hand and fingers onto the paper. Then, I held the paper down with one hand and took her hand straight up off the paper with the other. She did great…very little wiggle! Yay! Last, I added her name and age to one of her handprints with my Black Zig Writer Pen. I love it! Not just the size of her sweet little hand, but I can also see the special creases and swirl marks in her hands.

I love all the different designs on the Home for Christmas Patterned Paper. So, I took one strip of the paper and made a banner flag going straight across with a pretty lace ribbon underneath it. I took the mini green and brown strip for the break between the main patterned papers. I used my scoring board to turn the red and white strip of the paper into another pinwheel. So pretty!

I gave lots of texture to these red Corrugated Alphas by layering yellow paint on them. I love how many letters you get in this pack! Just when I think there is no way I have enough letters to make this long title…I’m totally gonna run out…I’m good. I only had to cut some letters to make an “r” and 2 “t.” I used my Zig 2-Way Glue Pen to adhere the letters to the page. Even though I love everything on this page…the title is one of my favorite parts.

This is the other favorite part…the layered embellishment and journaling spot. Pretty Computer Font Time! I used Annie BTN for the journaling on this page.

I added the yellow paint to the swirl clear stamps with a foam brush and placed it in three spots around my page. I loved adding some Jewel Stickers to the swirls, too. I love the white, glitter swirl that came with the Chipboard Shapes. There are two of them in the pack. I used the smaller one, cut it into two pieces, and used my Zig 2-Way Glue Pen to adhere it to the page.

Supplies I used to make my “My Favorite Artist Hands Down” Layout:

The Wonder and Wishes Collection by Little Yellow Bicycle

Home for Christmas/Red Check (WO-101) and Dots on Green (WO-104) Patterned Papers, Jewel Stickers (WO-197), Flower Button Dots Layered (WO-219), Fabric Favorites (WO-220), Corrugated Alphas (WO-275), Corrugated Shapes (WO-276), Chipboard Shapes (WO-279), and Paper Flower Kit (WO-305)

Others: Paper Doilies (LYB-302) by Little Yellow Bicycle, Bright White Cover cardstock by The Paper Company, Swirls Clear Stamps by Autumn Leaves, Lemon Scrapbook Colors by Making Memories, paper trimmer by Fiskars, Scoring Board by Martha Stewart Crafts, Glubers by Cosmo Cricket, Circle Foam Tabs by American Crafts, Mini Glue Dots, Black Zig Writer Pen, Zig 2-Way Glue Pen, Herma Tabs, E-Z Runner Scrapbook Adhesives by 3L, Annie BTN computer font (downloaded from the internet), blue paint, scissors, lace ribbon, white thread, and sewing machine

2 Comments on “Little Yellow Bicycle: Sketch Challenge”

  1. aunt emmy says:

    okay – i looked at the LO before i read your description, and i have to say – i would NEVER have guessed that was christmas stuff? once i knew, i could see it, but really – you did a wonderful job! and OMG! her hands are great!! will you help me with the boys sometime?? they will totally wiggle, so it really might take both of us!! 😉

  2. yvonnek11 says:

    Beautiful LO! Love the stamping and handprints! And I agree.. doesn’t even look like a xmas collection was used. So creative! Great job Renee!


Leave a Reply

