Lollipop Birthday Party Invitations

I’m SO excited! Here is my first Design Team project for Pretty Little Studio. With Payton’s 5th Birthday (I cannot believe this sweetheart is turning 5!) right around the corner, I knew I wanted to use the Clowning Around Collection to make my invites. Thanks again, Melissa! It fits perfectly with the theme for this year, Barbie Candy Shoppe, and the colors are SO bright and vibrant! When my husband saw this collection, his first words were wow…the colors just pop. Payton and I totally agree and she loves her party invitations!

Let me show you how I made this particular one. Fun and easy. The best part is that you can make them as simple or as dressy as you want…your choice. You can also adjust the size to your liking.

I gathered the main supplies I needed to get started…

I cut the It’s a Party 8 x 8 Pattern Paper to a 6 inch circle. I used and cut two sheets. The party tent design on this paper reminded me of a swirly lollipop. Perfect! I loved how smooth the cutting was with this paper.

I attached pop dots to the patterned paper. I definitely wanted a 3D effect with these lollipops. I added a little bit of Mod Podge to the paper with my finger and placed the 6 inch lollipop stick onto the glue. I made sure everything was pressed down and put it off to the side to allow it to dry.

The center circle with the information on it measures 4 3/4 inches. I used rainbow colors and, of course, the birthday girls’ favorite color…pink. Pretty Computer Font Time! I used Arial Bold and Rosewood Std Regular for the info on this invite. I added pop dots to the circle, centered it, and attached it to my patterned paper.

I centered and attached my two pieces of patterned paper together.

How cool does this look!? You could stop here, but why? Let’s add more to it.

SO PRETTY, RIGHT!? Let’s add these trinkets to the lollipop invite.

I cannot get over how vibrant the colors are! I used the April Rainbows Cookie Cutter Labels (adding Payton’s name to it), the Count to Spring Paper Ribbons, and the Mini Birthday Party Word Flashcards

…and added green tissue paper, red tulle, and yellow crepe paper to them with my sewing machine.

I have so many garbage bag twist ties around the house that I don’t use. So, I decided to use them to make my own decorative twist ties. I peeled off the yellow plastic and cleaned them off with my nails.

With so many wonderful patterns to choose from in the Clowning Around Paper Collection, I had such a tough time deciding which one to use. I finally decided to go with the Birthday Cake 8 x 8 Pattern Paper! I cut the paper into 1/4 inch strips. I added Mod Podge to it using my finger, placed the two twist ties on top, and allowed it to dry.

I added Mod Podge to another strip of the patterned paper, stuck them together, cut off the ends with my scissors, pressed it down, and allowed it to dry.

I cut my cellophane, added some pretty glitter, and closed up the lollipop. You can add Glue Dots or regular tape to the cellophane and finish it off with the pretty twist tie.

I punched tiny holes into my tags, added twine, and tied them to the lollipop.

This Lollipop Invitation measures 10 3/4 inches tall x 6 inches wide. It was so fun and easy to make! A pretty party invitation for my sweet and pretty little soon-to-be 5 year old. I LOVE birthday parties! Don’t you!?

Supplies I used to make my “Lollipop Birthday Party Invitations”:

Clowning Around 8 x 8 Paper CollectionBirthday Cake 8 x 8 Pattern Paper and It’s A Party 8 x 8 Pattern Paper by Pretty Little Studio

April Rainbows Cookie Cutter Labels, Count to Spring Paper Ribbons, and Mini Birthday Party Word Flashcards by Pretty Little Studio

Others:  Bright White Cover cardstock and tiny hole punch by The Paper Company, Circle Foam Adhesive Tabs by American Crafts, Mod Podge, Gold Stars (#6504) Fairy Sparkles Fine Glitter and 6 inch Lollipop Sticks (from my local Hobby Lobby store), Lime Twist Fly a Kite “Everyday” Twine by My Mind’s Eye, clear Cello Wrap (cellophane), green tissue paper, yellow crepe paper, red tulle, garbage bag twist ties, Scotch tape, scissors, Cutter Bee – Circle Scissor Pro by EK Success, paper trimmer and decorative scissors by Fiskars, white thread, and sewing machine


7 Comments on “Lollipop Birthday Party Invitations”

  1. Citizen Editor says:

    This is genius! Love this idea!

  2. yvonnek11 says:

    Love these invites! So creative and colorful!!

  3. InkPaperLove says:

    Love Love Love this idea! How many did you make?

    • Renee Zwirek says:

      Thanks, Claudia (InkPaperLove)! I made 10 invites total, because we only invited our immediate family to this party. These invites were great and because I didn’t have that much time on my hands…I found this was the easiest way to make them. I tried to keep it fun, simple, and pretty.

      • Joi says:

        how do you get the dots around the words

      • Renee Zwirek says:

        Hi Joi!

        Super easy to get the dots around the words…

        In my Microsoft Word 2010 program, I typed out all the wording for my invite and set the different fonts, colors, and sizes that I wanted it to have. After that was ready, I clicked on the INSERT tab at the top bar and clicked on the SHAPES button. I selected the OVAL shape, placed it on my page, and stretched it to form a circle. The FORMAT tab appears with the DRAWING TOOLS word above it and I went in to fix the size of my circle as well as center it with the wording on my invitation. I clicked on the WRAP TEXT button and then clicked on BEHIND TEXT to make sure that my words show through the circle. Then, I clicked on SHAPE FILL and set it to WHITE. Finally, under the SHAPE OUTLINE tab, I clicked on DASHES and changed it to ROUND DOTS. I clicked on WEIGHT and changed the size of the dots to 2 1/4 pt to make sure the dots were evenly spaced out and pretty. You can make the dots any size you would like…just make sure you print out your test sheets first to make sure everything looks the way you like it.

        I hope this helps. Have a Great Day and Happy Creating!
        Renee

  4. vjw81e says:

    Too too cute!!! And so is the invitation 😉


Leave a Reply

