That’s What Makes You Beautiful Layout

I made this layout using the May Color Challenge over at the Crate Paper Blog. The color combination is Marshmallow White, Marigold Orange, and Aqua Blue. Not only did I use this great beachy color combo to create my page, but I also took inspiration from this song by One Direction and combined it with an email ad I received from Anthropologie. (I just know my sisters…and Emmy…are gonna tease me about this song. Come on, just admit they remind you of NKOTB and Backstreet Boys, too.) LOL!

 One Direction – What Makes You Beautiful (Official Music Video)

by OneDirectionVEVO and directed by John Urbano

Oh, sweet Payton. My favorite little 5-year-old. She is sweet, charming, smart, loving, stubborn, caring, considerate, hilarious, a foodie, the list can go on and on…she is just beautiful inside and out. But on top of all these great things about her, she has some serious “alpha” issues. Oh, yes. This little sweetheart has told us that she is upset that Caitie was born first. When I first heard her say this, I laughed because I never thought that this kid could ever be jealous. Plus, how often do you hear someone admit to that? I feel bad. As her Mama, I never want her to feel like this or feel that I love Caitie more than her. Oh sure, Caitie was born first, gets to go to school first, and has lots of school friends (BTW, Caitie’s friends love Payton, too). Did I mention that Payton will run up ahead of us just be first (the leader) and she even gets upset if I go kiss Caitie goodnight first? Yeah. Okay, so what do I do to make her feel better? Besides talking to her about all the things that make her special and unique…that the beauty inside her is what matters most, I created this layout for her as a constant reminder that she is totally beautiful. We love her and there is nobody else like her. She’s a keeper!

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO

Here is the confetti I added to the page. I used the leftover hearts and moon-like shapes from the punches I used on this page. I don’t like to waste any bit of scraps from patterned paper. I love using all I can and these looked adorable.

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

I added Aquamarine paint under some of the hearts I punched out.

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

I added layers of pretty fabric, tissue paper, and pattern paper under my photos. These pics were taken on the day of Payton’s 5th Birthday Party. It was a fun little photo shoot. I can’t believe she stood still for me! HA! How adorable are the washi tapes I added!? Yes, Payton’s adorable, too.

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

I added the scallop heart punch to the “Sweet” tag.

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

Pretty buttons and I added the wood veneer girl shape to the page using the Glossy Accents. Lots more pretty layering using a doily, fabric, and pattern paper.

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

Love that scallop frame punch! I gotta use it more!

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

I added more Aquamarine paint to the wedding cake bag and let it dry. Once it dried, I turned it upside down and printed off some journaling on it. Why not have the journaling out at the bottom this time? Then, I added the Pretty Party Alpha Stickers for my title and sewed the bag right onto my page.

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

Let me show you the journaling card…

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

I just had to add a pretty little flower to it along with a ribbon from the Farmhouse Trims.

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

Pretty Computer Font Time! I used the font Another Typewriter for all the journaling on this page.

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

Pretty button, love this no. 5 chipboard, and more painted hearts.

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

I love this little chipboard butterfly!

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

That's What Makes You Beautiful LO Close-Up

Supplies I used to make my “That’s What Makes You Beautiful” Layout:

Pretty Party and Story Teller Collections by Crate Paper

Pretty Party Invitation and Stitch Pattern Papers, Pretty Party Alpha Stickers, Pretty Party Chipboard Accent Stickers, Pretty Party 6 x 6 Paper Pad, Pretty Party Double-Sided Cuts 12 x 12 Sheet Tags, Pretty Party Eclectic Buttons, Random Flea Market Buttons, Farmhouse Trims and Buttons, and Story Teller Journey Pattern Paper by Crate Paper

Punches:  Scallop Heart Border Knock Outs Punch by American Crafts, Scallop Frame Large Punch by EK Success, and Pinking Circle Punch All Over the Page Craft Punch by Martha Stewart Crafts

Washi Tapes:  Like This Smash Tape and Section Smash Tape by K & Company

Computer Font:  Another Typewriter (downloaded from the internet)

Others:  Take Note People Wood Veneer Shapes by Studio Calico, Glossy Accents by Ranger, Apple Barrel Acrylic Paint 20774 Aquamarine (from my local Joanns Store) and foam brush by Plaid, embroidery floss by DMC, needle, Herma Tabs, Mini Glue Dots, fabric quarters (from my local Joanns Store), Wedding Cake Bags by Amscan (from my local Party City Store), scissors, doily, aqua tissue paper, white thread, and sewing machine

6 Comments on “That’s What Makes You Beautiful Layout”

  1. yvonnek11 says:

    Haha… who doesn’t love a boy band! 😉 Beautiful LO Renee!!! Love your journaling… such sweet words for a sweet lil girl! What a great keepsake for Payton! All the colors and accents are fantastic! Great job!

  2. InkPaperLove says:

    This is so pretty. I need to ask you how did you printed the journaling on the cake bag? Is that a fabric bag?

    • Renee Zwirek says:

      Thanks, Claudia! The wedding cake bag (I found it in the Wedding aisle at my local Party City store) feels like regular paper…maybe has a little bit of slip/smoothness on it. It does have a waxy inner layer.

      While the paint dried on the bag, I typed out the journaling on my computer (I use Microsoft Word 2010) and spaced it the way I wanted it (this bag measures 5.75″ x 7.5″).

      Then, I took a regular sheet of printer paper, printed off the journaling, and saw where my journaling would be.

      I lined up and tilted the bag the way I wanted it (the journaling shows through the bag when I hold it up to a window). Placed it on my desk…holding the bag in place the entire time. I put a strip of 2″ blue painter’s tape (from Home Depot) on the entire top edge. I run it through the printer again and my journaling looks great on it.

      BTW, to make sure my tape doesn’t rip the bag as I peel it off, I take the strip of tape and place it on my pant leg. I just keep placing, pressing, and peeling it off my thigh to take away most of the stick. I usually repeat that 3-5 times. If I don’t do that, then the bag or even the patterned paper rips at the edges.

      Happy Mother’s Day, Claudia!
      Have a great weekend!

  3. Beautiful page Renee! I’m sure Payton will treasure it always! Have a wonderful weekend! ~Sophia

  4. emmy says:

    haha! i would totally tease you about this, but i have no leg to stand on! i heard this song a couple of times and really liked it – even before i knew it was one direction. i’ll admit, when i realized it was them, i definitely had some serious flashbacks to my own tween years . . . i would have loved them then, and bought every issue of “bop” i could find! such a great story here, too, renee – figuring out how to raise confident kids is such a challenge! you’re up to it! ❤


Leave a Reply

