Happy Father’s Day! Cards

Here is an arrow tutorial I made for Pretty Little Studio. I made two Father’s Day cards using items from their Monsieur Collection. I really LOVE the arrow trend in scrapbooking and decided to use it in two different ways. On the card I made for a Dad, I used the arrows to make a fun border along the side of it. On the card I made for an Uncle, I used my arrows as a fun and interesting background.

To make my arrows, all I need are my Monsieur Paper Ribbons and Mr. Harris Pattern Paper.

Cut out your paper ribbons. I used two for one of my cards, but you can use as few or as many as you need for the size of your card.

I started cutting at the bottom of the paper ribbon and made my cuts at about a 45 degree angle to the center. This is my favorite way to make these arrows…using paper ribbons make it so much easier!

Cut the other side and the woodgrain arrows are ready to add to your project.

Now, to make arrows from the pattern paper, I cut 1″ strips from the pattern paper (you can make them any size you like). Again, I started cutting at the bottom of the strip at about a 45 degree angle to the center of the strip.

This time I’ll show you how I cut the other side of the arrow to make them all pretty much the same in size. First, I’ll match up my scissor line to the cut end on the other side.

Then, I just turn the paper strip and match up my scissor line to the cut center of the strip.

All that’s left to do is take your cut arrows and arrange them the way you like on your project.

Supplies I used to make my “Happy Father’s Day!” Cards:

The Monsieur Collection by Pretty Little Studio

Mr. Hall, Mr. Harris, and Mr. Young Monsieur 8 x 8 Pattern Papers, Mr. Woodgrain Paper Ribbons, Mr. Gold Apothecary Journaling Cards, Mr. Leonard Vintage Diecuts, and Mr. Relative Mini Word Flashcards Monsieur by Pretty Little Studio
Others:  Swiss Dotted Cardstocks by Bazzill Basics, Dark Calico Mister Huey’s Color Mist by Studio Calico, Rocket Age Robot Blue Sprinklers by October Afternoon, Iconic Dad Clear Stamps by Stampendous! (from my local Archiver’s Store), black stamp ink, Zig 2-Way Glue Pens, Herma Tabs, Mini and Memory Book Glue Dots, Square Foam Tabs by American Crafts, jade thread, and sewing machine

2 Comments on “Happy Father’s Day! Cards”

  1. yvonnek11 says:

    Great cards! The arrows are a cool touch!

  2. emmy says:

    what a painstaking job with all those little arrows – but the effect is so great, it was worth the effort! nice job!


Leave a Reply

