Keep Calm and Run On Layout

Yep, I’m doing it! I have always wanted to participate in a marathon just like Chris has except I have no desire right now to do a half or even a full marathon. So, I decided to do something shorter instead.

I signed-up for the 2013 Fall Color 5K Run in October at the Morton Arboretum (love this place)! I’m all registered for the race so you know what that means…yep…I can’t back out of it now. HaHa! No, it just means that I had to get tougher on myself for training. I started building up my endurance for this 5K at the start of this year. I mostly walked on the treadmill. Now, I’m running! Straight through! Can you believe it?!

It’s been a rough road though. I’ve been stricter with what I’m eating and drinking even more water than I already do. I’ve had another injury this time to my baby toe AND I’ve only lost one toe nail this time around. I’ve had to decrease the miles I’ve done because of some rough days. There were times when I wanted to stop and not do my run for the day. Thinking my heart isn’t strong enough or I’m gonna really hurt myself. Telling myself I can’t do it.

My hubby is very encouraging and supportive of this adventure because he’s been there (2 Chicago Marathons and 1 Half Marathon) and understands what it’s like. The saying KEEP CALM AND RUN ON stayed in my head as well. Now, I feel like I’m really rockin’ with this training. And, the coolest part is that I’m noticing the difference with my body. I’m slimming down and lovin’ it. Again, it’s tough! I’m only doing a 5K. I cannot imagine how crazy it is to train for a half and full marathons. I give those people a lot of credit because this is no joke. It’s a lot of work! My goal is to do the 5K race in 45 minutes. We’ll see how that goes on race day.

I wanted to do a layout to document a little bit about it. I used the awesome From Me to You collection by Pebbles.

Keep Calm and Run On LO

Yes, my shoes are bright pink and I love them! I used a Picture Frame Hang Tag for my pic and layered pattern papers, vellum, bright fall leaves, and of course flowers around it.

Keep Calm and Run On LO

I used a Library Pocket to hold my journaling. I was SO excited that my eight week training program fit perfectly onto this calendar (handwritten by me).

Keep Calm and Run On LO

Pretty Computer Font Time! I used Arial Narrow for the journaling in this pocket.

Keep Calm and Run On LO

Pebbles Supplies:

From Me to You Hello (732255)

From Me to You Thanks (732256)

From Me to You Mail (732258)

From Me to You Postage (732259)

From Me to You Ring Ring (732261)

From Me to You Parcel (732262)

From Me to You Phrase and Accent Stickers (732271)

From Me to You Cardstock Stickers (732272)

From Me to You Library Pockets (732277)

From Me to You Roller Stamp (732278)

From Me to You Chips Printed Chipboard Pieces (732281)

From Me to You Picture Frame Hang Tags (732283)

Glitter Candy Dots, White (744246)

Other Supplies:

white cardstock, Black Precision Pen 03 (62311), Primio Black and White Bakers Twine (89423), Zig Zag Knock Outs Border Punch, and Amy Tangerine Ready Set Go Paper Leaves (American Crafts)

Inky Black Mister Huey’s Color Mists and Die Cut Shapes Vellum (Studio Calico)

Studio Calico Stepping Stone Alphabet Clear Stamps (Hero Arts)

Mini and Ultra-Thin Glue Dots (Glue Dots International)

Herma Vario Tabs and corner round punch (EK Success)

scissors and paper trimmer (Fiskars)

Tuxedo Black Memento Ink Stamp Pad and Aquatic Splash Versa Magic Chalk Ink (Tsukineko)

Arial Narrow (Computer Font)

red-orange and green colored pencils (Crayola)

gold sequins

confetti vellum

white thread and sewing machine

Hal Higdon’s 5K Training Program: Novice

5 Comments on “Keep Calm and Run On Layout”

  1. emilyaz says:

    holy crow! good for you, renee! and what a great way to motivate yourself with this page! you can do it!

    • Renee Zwirek says:

      Thanks, Em! I still can’t believe I’m doing it. After October 6th, I can cross this off my bucket list. It’s not a Marathon, but this 5K Race feels like one to me. 😉 Especially since I have never done this type of thing before.

  2. Maja says:

    Wow! Respect! I could never do this! Love your page! All the beautiful layering and I escpecially love the seguins!

  3. yvonnek11 says:

    So proud of u for doing this Renee! Such an accomplishment, no matter how big the race! Love the pocket journaling.. very cute, and motivating! 😉

  4. […] this follow-up layout to my training layout, I decided to scraplift myself and just change a few elements on my page. I wanted to keep them […]


Leave a Reply

