Message Boards

We have needed a message board (or two) next to our calendar for awhile now.  You know, a place to keep the school forms (field trip, parent-teacher conferences, book reports, and other assignments), appointment cards, grocery lists, and other reminders.  I took the new Jen Hadfield Cottage Living Hanging Chalkboard by Pebbles and an old magnetic frame and altered them a bit to function for our family.

Message-Boards-1B

I used items from the Cottage Living collection by Pebbles.  I’m in LOVE with this new line!

Message Boards 1

I started with the Hanging Chalkboard.  I covered it with chalk, erased the chalk, and wiped away any extra chalk dust.  Next, I centered my Chalkboard on my craft mat and decided that Mod Podge would be the best way for me to secure the Thickers to the Chalkboard.

Message Boards 2

I used a hot glue gun to attach my Gold Metal Clips to the Chalkboard.  Done!  Super fast and easy (about 10 minutes).  I decided to just add two clips because I wanted space on the bottom of the board in case I wanted to write a quick note with chalk.

Message Boards 3

I worked on the magnetic frame.  I trimmed the Sweet Mint pattern paper to 7.25″ x 9.25″ and simply slipped it under the edges of the frame.  No adhesive needed or used.  It’s a magnetic board.  The magnets would hold the paper in place anyway.  Right?  Plus, I thought it would be fun to switch out the paper for a new one whenever I wanted to pretty it up again.

Message Boards 6

SO PRETTY!  Love it already!

Message Boards 7

Next, I worked on three magnets for my frame.  I used my hot glue gun to attach the magnet to this PRETTY Paper Flower!  I also took two Jewel Stickers, removed the sticker part, and hot glued tiny magnets to them that I had around the house already.  Payton is my sweet little helper here.

Message Boards 4

Seriously adorable!  I love it!  Have I mentioned to you that I love refrigerator magnets?  Because, I do.  I really really do!

Message Boards 5

I added “Hello” Rub-Ons and a heat embossed “Hello” speech bubble stamp to the board.  I used my hot glue gun again to attach the Gold Metal Clips to the board.  Here you can see the pretty Jewel magnets.

Message Boards 8

Message Boards 9

It only took about 15 minutes to get this frame done!  LOVE this SO much!  Gave it new life.  Before, I used it for pics of the girls (and I loved it).

Message Boards 10

Now, it’s so much more functional for us to be able to use everyday.

Message Boards 11

Message Boards 12

Here they are on our kitchen wall (it’s next to our “Despicable Me” Minion calendar).  I LOVE these Message Boards!

Message Boards 13

Message Boards 14

Message Boards 15

They took so little time to put together.  That makes me love them even more!

Thanks for stopping by today…have a great one!

Message-Boards-12B

Pebbles Supplies:

Cottage Living Sweet Mint (732752)

Cottage Living Imprint Thickers, Gold (732775)

Cottage Living Jewel Stickers (732778)

Cottage Living Gold Metal Clips (732781)

Cottage Living Phrase & Icon Rub-Ons (732782)

Cottage Living Paper Flowers (732784)

Cottage Living Clear Stamps (732792)

Cottage Living Hanging Chalkboard (732790)

Other Supplies:

Black Glitter Finish Zing! Embossing Powder (27148) (American Crafts)

VersaMark Watermark Stamp Pad (Tsukineko)

Embossing Heat Tool Model 2500 (Marvy Uchida)

Mod Podge (Plaid)

paper trimmer and 12″ x 12″ Two-Sided Craft Mat (Fiskars)

Hot Glue Gun (Michael’s)

3/4″ Round Magnets (#381913) (Hobby Lobby)

chalk and eraser

ruler

Old Magnetic Frame (gift from my Mother-In-Law from Hallmark)



Leave a Reply

