Van’s Envelope Book

Because I have two girls, I have never made a project for a boy before. But, I wanted to give it a try. Especially, when I saw the new Rocket Age Collection by October Afternoon. I knew exactly who I wanted to make this book for…my sweet, rough and tumble nephew, Van. I’m glad his mom agreed!

I went back to my Envelope Book Class at www.makesomethingsplendid.com. I followed the lessons and completed my second envelope book. I’m excited to share it with you…

I found Wedding Cakes Bags at my local Party City store. They were a little bit thicker, but still very similiar to the envelopes I got with my class kit and used for my first book. I resized the bags to what I wanted and sewed around the hole punches to reinforce them. I thought it would be fun to arrange the envelopes in a countdown style (10 – 1) to go along with the rocket theme.

Well, here we go…I”ll give you a closer look!

Here is Envelope 10 and the Journaling Card included:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is Envelope 9 and the Journaling Card included:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is Envelope 8 and the Journaling Card included:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is Envelope 7 and the Journaling Card included:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is Envelope 6 and the Journaling Card included:

Here is Envelope 5 and the Journaling Card included:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is Envelope 4 and the Journaling Card included:

Here is Envelope 3 and the Journaling Card included:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is Envelope 2 and the Journaling Card included:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is Envelope 1 and the Journaling Card included:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This book was really fun to make. I can’t wait to make one for his little brother. I’ll share it with you when I’m done with it!

Supplies I used to make Van’s Envelope Book:

Elizabeth Kartchner’s Envelope Book Class at www.makesomethingsplendid.com

All the Die Cut and Patterned Papers, 8×8 Paper Pad, Chipboard Shapes, Miscellany, Stickers, Rubber Charms, Buttons, Tin Pins, and Sprinklers Spray Inks : The Rocket Age Collection by October Afternoon

Ribbons and Fibers: Rouge Rose Dear Lizzy Ribbon by American Crafts, Emma’s Shoppe Ribbon by Crate Paper, the Lime Twist Collection Out of the Blue “Remember” and Fly a Kite “Soar” Twines by My Mind’s Eye, the yellow, orange, and red Fun Fibers by EK Success

Jewels: Blast Off! Jewels by Bo Bunny Press and Brenda Walton Maison Adhesive Rhinestones by K & Company

Stamp: Hello Sunshine Terrace Small Acrylic Stamps by American Crafts

Punches: Threading Water Border Punch by Fiskars and Super Circle Clever Lever Craft Punch by Marvy Uchida

Adhesives: Mini and Memory Book Glue Dots, Mod Podge, Diamond Stickles Glitter Glue by Ranger Industries, and Herma Tabs

Chipboard, Wedding Cake Bags (from my local Party City store), Crop-A-Dile II Big Bite (We R Memory Keepers), blue and yellow twine, blue eyelets, hole puncher, black ink pad, staples, scissors, paper trimmer, blue and white thread, and sewing machine


4 Comments on “Van’s Envelope Book”

  1. aunt emmy says:

    oh, renee!! it’s SO fantastic!! van’s going to LOVE it. all the robots, and rockets – the space suits and rayguns – it’s perfect! i can’t wait to see it in real life – or to see what you’re going to do for asa! now the pressure’s on for me to have awesome things to put inside it all those incredible envelopes! thanks you so much, aunt renee!! ❤

    • Renee Zwirek says:

      You’re Very Welcome, Emmy! I had fun making it! It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be to make a keepsake for a boy…especially since I had an online class to follow & help me through it. I can’t wait to give it to You & Van! I know you’ll have lots of fun memories & trinkets to put in it. XOXO, Van! LoveYou, Aunt Renee!

  2. Marina Johan says:

    This is such a great looking book =D I love the stitching!


Leave a comment